Before & After: Restoring a Silversmith Hammer

01Mar09

   Among the old tools I own (I got them from the local Flea Market)  there are two nice silversmith hammers. They are in a pretty good condition and only need a superficial refinishing. The joint between head and handle is rock-solid.

Silversmith hammer, before refinishing

Silversmith hammer, before refinishing

   So, this will be a light, easy job for me. This is what I intend to do:

– polish the head to a nice shine

– sand the wooden handle for cleaning, using sandpaper

– finish the handle with several coats of boiled linseed oil

   For polishing the metal head I used a Dremel-like rotary tool. I started by grinding with fine grits  sandpaper disks (400, 1000, 2000 grits) then I used felt and polishing paste (brown – coarse and blue – fine).

   Then I lightly sanded the handle with 180 and 240 grit sandpaper. The handle was very nice with no deep marks  or other damages, so the sanding took less than 10 minutes.

   As the final step I applied about 6 coats of boiled linseed oil on the handle. This is the finish I like the most on wooden tool handles. 

   After these preparations the hamer looks like this:

Silversmith hammer, after refinishing

Silversmith hammer, after refinishing

The picture above was pretty dificult to take because of the shiny head!

No Responses Yet to “Before & After: Restoring a Silversmith Hammer”

  1. Lasă un comentariu

Lasă un răspuns

